ACRL/ARL/SPARC offering joint Webcast on author rights

Twitter icon
Facebook icon
Google icon
LinkedIn icon
e-mail icon
Categories: 

ACRL and ARL, through the Institute on Scholarly Communication, along with SPARC, are sponsoring a special joint Webcast on author rights. Julia Blixrud, assistant director for public programs of SPARC, and Trisha Davis, rights management coordinator of The Ohio State University Libraries, will discuss ways authors can amend publisher copyright transfer agreements to keep key rights to journal articles. This Webcast will provide librarians with the basic information needed to educate faculty on campus before they transfer ownership of their intellectual output and help them understand the consequences and options. Increase your visibility on campus, your influence on the higher education and research environment, and become a respected local authority on this important scholarly communication issue.

Webcast Date: Thursday, May 17, 2007.

Webcast Time: 1 p.m. Eastern, noon Central, 11 a.m. Mountain, 10 a.m. Pacific

Length: 1 hour

Registration is limited to 60. ACRL and ALA members receive a registration discount. A group registration rate is also available. Cost ranges from $40-$295. Registration is accepted on a first-come, first-served basis. For complete information, including a link to registration, go to: http://www.ala.org/ala/acrl/acrlproftools/authorrights.htm (ALA members and nonmembers with an existing account will need to use their login and password to register. New users will be asked to create a user account before registering.)

Note: There will be a second Webcast on Monday, June 18, 2007. (Registration opens Monday, May 21, 2007.) An archived version will be made publicly available after the second Webcast takes place.

##

SPARC

SPARC (Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition), with SPARC Europe and SPARC Japan, is an international alliance of more than 800 academic and research libraries working to create a more open system of scholarly communication. SPARC's advocacy, educational, and publisher partnership programs encourage expanded dissemination ofresearch. SPARC is on the Web at http://www.arl.org/sparc.