SPARC Europe Webcast invitation: OpenAIRE – What libraries need to know

Twitter icon
Facebook icon
Google icon
LinkedIn icon
e-mail icon
Categories: 

OpenAIRE: What libraries need to know

A free SPARC Europe online event

Tuesday, June 7, 2011

12:00 – 1:00PM GMT | 2:00 – 3:00PM in The Hague | 8:00 – 9:00AM in Washington, DC

Registration is free, but required – and limited to SPARC worldwide members. RSVP by June 3 at http://sparc.arl.org/civicrm/event/register?reset=1&id=70.

Open Access Infrastructure for Research in Europe (OpenAIRE) is a three-year project funded by the European Commission (EC) that creates a valuable opportunity for countries and academic institutions throughout Europe to collectively make the case for Open Access and support its realization. OpenAIRE supports the implementation of the EC's Seventh Framework Programme (FP7) Open Access Pilot and the European Research Council Guidelines on Open Access by focusing on digital repositories, and developing an infrastructure for Open Access along with a support network across Europe. Specifically, researchers are supported in depositing their peer-reviewed research articles in institutional or disciplinary repositories, if available, or into the OpenAIRE Orphan Repository hosted by CERN.

The initiative is an important development in the Open Access movement in Europe, and provides an important collaborative opportunity for libraries. SPARC Europe is pleased to host Ms Inge van Nieuwerburgh, a regional coordinator for OpenAIRE, on June 7, to explore project features, approaches, risks, challenges, and future directions for the projects, as well as to explore ways libraries can be actively involved in the project.

This SPARC Europe Web cast is open to all SPARC members (SPARC North America, SPARC Japan and SPARC Europe).

Please join us.

OpenAIRE: What libraries need to know

A free SPARC Europe online event

Tuesday, June 7, 2011

12:00 – 1:00PM GMT | 2:00 – 3:00PM CEST | 8:00 – 9:00AM in Washington, DC 

Registration is free, but required – and limited to SPARC worldwide members. RSVP by June 3 at http://sparc.arl.org/civicrm/event/register?reset=1&id=70.

We invite you to take a look at http://www.openaire.eu and share any questions you may have when you register to attend. 

 

About SPARC Europe 

SPARC Europe is an alliance of European research libraries, library organisations and research institutions. We provide a voice for the community and the support and tools it needs in order to being about positive change to the system of scholarly communications. Our members represent over 100 of Europe’s leading academic and research institutions. Membership is open to national and academic libraries, library organizations and research institutions in the region. For more information, visit http://www.sparceurope.org.