SPARC 2014 OA Meeting Program


SPARC 2014 OA Meeting Program

LIVE NOW! Click here to view livestream. 

Monday, March 3, 2014

  • 7am - Breakfast (Foyer)
  • 9am-10:30am - Welcome and Meeting Keynote (Salon 2&3)
    - Welcome and Keynote Introduction - Heather Joseph
    - Keynote Speaker - Dr. Philip Bourne
  • 10:30am - Coffee Break
  • 11am-12:30pm - Advocacy & Policy Session (Salon 2&3)
    • Donna Arnett, Chair, Department of Epidemiology, University of Alabama-Birmingham School of Public Health
    • José Cotta, Head of Unit for Digital Science, European Commission Directorate General for Communications Networks, Content & Technology
    • Nick Shockey, Director of Student Advocacy, SPARC
    • Timothy Vollmer, Public Policy Manager, Creative Commons 
  • 12:30pm - Lunch (Salon 1A & 1B)
  • 2pm-3:30pm - Practical Implementation Session (Salon 2&3)
    Accelerating Impact: Exceptional Real-World Applications of Open Access Research.  Sponsored by PLOS.
    • Richard Baraniuk, Founder and Director, Connexions and OpenStax College, Rice University
    • Cameron Neylon, Advocacy Director, Public Library of Science
    • Terri Shelton, Vice Chancellor for Research and Economic Development University of North Carolina at Greensboro
    • Herbert Van de Sompel, Digital Library Research & Prototyping, Los Alamos National Library 
  • 3:30pm - Break
  • 4:15pm - Meeting-wide Reception (Salon 1A & 1B)
  • 4:30-6pm - Innovation Fair (Salon 1A & 1B)
Tuesday, March 4, 2014
  • 8am-10am - Vendor Showcase and Breakfast (Foyer)
  • 10:30am-12pm - Professional Development (Salon 2&3)
    • Connie Broughton, Director of eLearning and Open Education, Washington State Board for Community and Technical Colleges
    • Jill Emery, Collection Development Librarian, Portland State University
    • Erin McKiernan, Researcher in Medical Sciences, National Institute of Public Health, Mexico
    • Jeffrey Vitter, Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor, The University of Kansas
  • 12pm - Lunch (Salon 1A & 1B)
  • 1:30pm-3pm - Blue Sky & The Big Picture (Salon 2&3)
    • Brett Bobley, Director, Office of Digital Humanities, National Endowment for the Humanities
    • Kelvin Droegemeier, Vice President for Research, University of Oklahoma
    • Dave Ernst, Executive Director, Open Academics Textbook Initiative
    • David Wiley, Co-Founder and Chief Academic Officer, Lumen Learning
  • 3pm - Closing Remarks - Heather Joseph

Thank you to our meeting sponsors:

Full meeting sponsor

Coffee Break sponsors:


Vendor Showcase Sponsors:

Supporting Organizations:


University of Kansas


SPARC Resources

View resource portal»

Why Access Matters